Local, Renewable Wood Products

From New York, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine

Northern Forest woodworkers leverage the region’s natural resources to create beautiful, useful, fun and durable products. Each business listed here demonstrates quality craftsmanship and devotion to this region’s economy.

Below you will find an array of high quality products that confirm the region’s high quality standards for their wood products.
 

Furniture:

Tables, Chairs, Desks, Dressers, Sideboards, Beds, Chests, Cabinets, etc

 

Vermont farm table: Burlington, VT www.vermontfarmtable.com 

Shackleton-Thomas: Bridgewater, VT www.shackletonthomas.com

Vermont Folk Rocker: Starksboro, VT www.vermontfolkrocker.com 

Clearlake Furniture: Ludlow, VT www.clearlakefurniture.com 

Vermont Wood Studios: Vernon, VT www.vermontwoodsstudios.com 

Pompanoosuc Mills: Hanover, NH www.pompy.com 

John Gillis Cabinetry: Tupper Lake, NY  www.adirondackcabinetmaker.com 

Hale Bookcases Direct: Frankfort, NY www.halebookcasesdirect.com 

Telescope Casual Directors Chairs: Granville, NY www.telescopecasual.com/collection/WF 

Manchester Wood: Granville, NY www.manchesterwood.com 

Thos. Moser Cabinetmaker:  Auburn, ME www.thosmoser.com

Skowhegan Wooden Rule: Skowhegan, ME www.skowheganwoodenrule.com

 

Home Décor:

Coasters, Picture & Art Frames, Ornaments, Bread Boxes, Spice Racks, Wine Racks, Pot Racks, Lazy Susans, Baskets, Carved Artwork, Rocking Chairs, etc.

 

Timeless Frames: Watertown, NY www.timelessframes.com 

Maple Landmark Woodcraft: Middleburry, VT www.maplelandmark.com 

Peterboro Basket Co.: Peterborough, NH www.peterborobasket.com 

 

Kitchen & Cooking:

Utensils, Cutting Boards, Salt & Pepper Mills, Serving Bowls, Rolling Pins, Wine Stoppers, Knife Blocks, Travel Mugs, Planks, etc.

 

Vermont Butcher Block and Board: Williston, VT www.vermontbutcherblock.com

JK Adams: Dorset, VT www.jkadams.com 

•WildWood Vermont: Hinesburg, VT  www.wildwoodvermont.com

Andrew Pearce Bowls: Hartland, VT  www.andrewpearcebowls.com 

Fletchers' Mill: New Vineyard, ME www.fletchersmill.com 

New Hampshire Bowl and Board: Webster, NH www.newhampshirebowlandboard.com 

Mystic Woodworks: Warren, ME www.mysticwoodworks.com/shop 

Maine Grilling Woods: Searsmont, ME www.mainegrillingwoods.com

 

Recreation:

Canoes & Kayaks, Paddles, Balance Boards, etc.

 

Vew-Do Balance Boards: Manchester Center, VT www.vewdo.com 

Hornbeck Boats: Olmstedville, NY www.hornbeckboats.com 

Mitchell Paddles: Canaan, NH www.mitchellpaddles.com 

Pride Manufacturing: Burnham, ME  www.pridemfg.com 

 

Learn more about The Northern Forest Center's Wood Product Innovation Program here.

Maine Made Furniture Chairs

The Northern Forest Center will support Maine Made Furniture’s effort to develop a comprehensive brand strategy for the high-quality furniture manufacturer in Wilton, ME. Maine Made Furniture employs 10 people in advanced wood products manufacturing, and tries to source their wood within the Northern Forest where possible. The Center worked with Maine Made Furniture to layout their plant for efficiency and reduce waste on a previous project. The company has focused on the foundation of lean operations, and is now ready to focus their energy on effective marketing to boost sales. Maine Made Furniture will leverage the Center’s $15,000 contribution towards the total cost of the project. Read more on our Wood Products Innovation program.

As of July, 138 students and wood products company workers have earned certification for their proficiency on various woodworking machines in connection with the Center’s Skilled Workforce Initiative. As the students and employees get certified on different woodworking operations, he or she earns stamps in a Woodwork Passport. The passport serves as a permanent and portable record of their skills that they can continue building throughout their career.

Communities & Banking, the magazine of the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston, included our article, "Wood Products Manufacturing in Northern New England: Building the Workforce." The article addresses how a skills gap in new, young workers will limit the growth of this important part of the rural economy in Northern New England. See how we plan to address the issue through our Skilled Workforce Initiative. To read our article, visit the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston's page on the article.